cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF routing with ISP

gensonator
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to this technology so please be kind.  I need assistance in making OSPF work between out Head Office (HO) and the Branch Offices where the ISP is not involved in OSPF routing.

We are using OSPF protocol on our entire network and our ISP 1 is involved in OSPF routing between the HO and the branch.  We are now trying to establish another link to the branches with a second ISP but they do not support OSPF like the first ISP and only use static routing.  They redistribute our routes via BGP.  The HO can talk to the branch using static routes but of course I would like to use dynamic routing instead.

How could I make OSPF work in the new backup link?  The  Engineer for the IS said that I need to use tunneling but I don't know how to configure it.  Is there any other way to make it work aside from tunneling?

Please see attached diagram. 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Gensonator,

you need to use a GRE p2p tunnel in order to run OSPF over it.

On new ISP facing routers you just need one static route to reach the remote end router

MAIN office new  ISP CE

ip route 10.90.0.8 255.255.252 10.90.0.5

interface tunnel  12

description GRE tunnel over new ISP

tunnel source 10..90.0.6

tunnel destination 10.90.0.10

ip address 10.91.0.1 255.255.255.252

!

router ospf 10

network 10.91.0.0 0.0.0.3 area 0

Note: do not configure network area commands in OSPF for the PE-CE IP subnets of new ISP to avoid instabilities

The same has to be done in a mirrored way on the branch office CE router facing the new ISP.

The tunnel creates a logical common subnet (10.91.0.0/30 in my example) that allows to run OSPF over it.