cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AAP2.4 and ISE3.1_7. Create Network Group Playbook Not Working

8uck5nort
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to both Ansible and ISE APIs. I have read through the Cisco Dev site and utilized the playbooks to view and list the groups. However, I am getting an "Unexpected failure during module execution: Unknown API version, known versions are 3.1.0, 3.1.1, 3.1.Patch.1 and 3.2_beta.",

The playbook is relatively simple so not sure why it is not working. Is this an error due to the fact our ISE PAN runs patch 7? I tried the ise_version set to 3.1.Patch1 but that did not work. Does the account I am using require authorization of some kind to create via API?

---

- hosts: My PAN server name
gather_facts: false

tasks:

- name: Create Site Group Under "Location#All Locations"
cisco.ise.network_device_group:
ise_hostname: "{{ise_hostname}}"
ise_username: "{{ise_username}}"
ise_password: "{{ise_password}}"
ise_verify: "{{ise_verify}}"
state: present
description: GroupDesc
name: "Location#All Locations#GroupDesc"
ndgtype: Location

I admit this may be a simple problem as I am still ramping up skills. But I have not had any luck finding an answer or a path to research.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Here is an example of using Ansible to create the Network Device Group by calling the API directly using the ansible.builtin.uri module.
I tested this against my ISE 3.1 patch 7 instance.

---
- name: Create NDG using API calls
hosts: localhost
gather_facts: no
vars_files:
- variables.yaml

tasks:
- name: Create NDG -- GroupDesc
ansible.builtin.uri:
url: https://{{ ise_hostname }}:9060/ers/config/networkdevicegroup
return_content: true
method: POST
validate_certs: false
headers:
Content-Type: application/json
Accept: application/json
Authorization: Basic {{ ers_username_password | b64encode }}
body_format: json
status_code: 201
body:
NetworkDeviceGroup:
name: Location#All Locations#GroupDesc
othername: Location

View solution in original post