cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unable to route traffic between subinterfaces in ASA 5515X

a.maldonado
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Firewalls and have been working with them just for 6 months. I am currently trying to configure an ASA 5515X with Firepower (whatever that means).

I want to use this firewall as the default gateway for all LAN traffic. I am experienced with routers and with the routers I just have to create subinterfaces on the physical interface and connect it to the core switch as a trunk and that's it. I have done the same with the firewall but I cannot pass traffic between the subinterfaces, I can ping from a host on any subinterface which all have security-leve 100  to the Router (which has the ISP link) through the Outside interface, which has security-leve 0.

I have reset the firewall to its factory defaults (several times) and I have only configured the subinterfaces with an ip address, security level 100, gave them a meaningful nameif and their corresponding VLAN ID. I also configured a default gateway and the inspect icmp under the global policy and the same-security-traffic permit inter/intra-interface command, but even with this most basic configuration I cannot ping from a host on one subinetrface to another subinterface. From any host I can ping its default gateway, this ensures I have connectivity through the local LAN switch, and as I said before I can ping through the outside interface but not between subinterfaces with the same security leveL.

I appreciate any thoughts or ideas.

A

8 Replies 8

aaron.hackney
Level 1
Level 1

Hello A,

Good job on the intra/inter interface sysopts. It's usually the first tripping stone.

I would issue a packer-tracer with your host ips and the detailed keyword and see how the firewall is treating your packet.