Views
Helpful
Replies

ACL-based QoS on Egress/ouput

mickpro77
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm a network engineer whom although works for an ISP has no experience with QoS.

There is an end user, "behind" a partner ISP, with a couple hundreds sites, that are querying (inbound: end user => partner ISP => us/me => Internet) and fetching (outbound: Internet => us/me => partner ISP => end user) a lot of data from the Internet all at once every other day, maxing out the outbound capacity of the interconnections we have with their ISP every time, which is impacting the other users sites routed through the same interconnection with that partner ISP.

Topology:

End user <> partner ISP <> us/me <> Internet

What I'm trying to achieve is limit the outbound bandwidth/traffic this specific end user is causing via a QoS traffic policy applied on the interface facing our partner ISP in egress/outbound/output direction.

I've done PCAPs on that interface and have managed to find the source IPs, the destination IPs and the protocol used (I'm gonna use dummy IPs as/for examples here).

Source IPs (end users' sites) are, although not consecutive, all within 192.168.0.0/24.

Destination IPs (on the Internet) are all within 192.167.255.0/24.

Protocol is HTTPS (port 443).

So, to sum up, it's (for example, and excluding NAT/PAT happening in between, which is irrelevant):

inbound (query): 192.168.0.1:49152(dynamically picked port) => 192.167.255.1:443

outbound (response): 192.167.255.1:443 => 192.168.0.1:49152(dynamically picked port

Here is what I was planning on implementing:

ip access-list extended ACL-Traffic_policy
permit tcp 192.167.255.0 0.0.0.255 eq 443 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255

class-map match-any CM-Traffic_policy
match access-group ACL-Traffic_policy

policy-map PM-Traffic_policy
class CM-Traffic_policy
bandwidth percent 10
police cir 100000000 conform-action transmit exceed-action drop

interface Gi0/0/4
service-policy output PM-Traffic_policy