Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

L2 Etherchannel issue between Nexus 5K Dual-Connected and Cisco 6500 VSS

Hi Vpc & Vss experts, I've been fighting with Etherchannel issue between Nexus 5K dual-connected and 6500 VSS. I'm new in Nexus environment so I need your advises on this. The diagram & configs are as the attachment. I have to use GLC-SX-MMD set with 1Gb speed at Nexus port since my 6500 10G module (WS-X6716-10G-3C) has not came yet. The issue is, I cannot ping either from Nexus to 6500 or the other way around, I'm not sure why though the Portchannel status at both sides are up. However if I ping the Vlan 716 in 6500 from Nexus, it always fail. Nexus-5K-1# ping 172.27.16.1 vrf management PING 172.27.16.1 (172.27.16.1): 56 data bytes ping: sendto 172.27.16.1 64 chars, No route to host Request 0 timed out ping: sendto 172.27.16.1 64 chars, No route to host Request 1 timed out ping: sendto 172.27.16.1 64 chars, No route to host Request 2 timed out ping: sendto 172.27.16.1 64 chars, No route to host Request 3 timed out ping: sendto 172.27.16.1 64 chars, No route to host Request 4 timed out --- 172.27.16.1 ping statistics --- 5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.00% packet loss I'm looking forward for your advises on this. Thank you, Pram
3 Replies 3

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Pram,

I haven't worked with Nexus switches yet so I may be wrong easily. However, after going over your configuration, the interface Vlan716 on your Nexus appears to exist in the global routing table, not in the "management" VRF. I do not see any other interface in the Nexus configuration that would be assigned to the "management" VRF. That would explain why your attempts to ping 172.27.16.1 from VRF "management" fail - because in that VRF, the Nexus has no IP interfaces.