cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CUCM License Rehost

rworrell987
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all, I've searched for this topic but have not yet found it, so I appreciate any help. Here's the run-down:

I changed the NTP server for my CUCM (it was spamming the error log). I didn't set up the system and didn't know VMWare licensing was the way it is, so of course my license went into 30day grace mode. I have gotten a license file sent to me but when I try to upload it, it's telling me that it's the same license file we already have and I can't get it in place. What am I missing? I'm talking back and forth with the license person who got me the license, but I'm hoping I didn't ask for the wrong thing. Any help would be appreciated, I was not the initial person who was going to be taking care of this system but now it's in my lap! I'm planning to use this experience to work towards getting some certs, but I'm still a beginner.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi there,

Just to add a note to the great tips from my friends Terry & Aman (+5 each!)

As Terry nicely noted pass along this Bug ID to the TAC engineer (note the number of Support cases = 210);

CLI file delete license doesn't remove DB entries in licenseinfo
CSCtc59039

Symptom:
The DB entries are not removed after removing the license file via cli command 
file delete license

Conditions:
This problem happens when there is only a license file uploaded in the server 
and user removes the license file

Workaround:
user will need to remove the corresponding DB entries in licenseinfo table. 
For performing this, TAC will need to be contacted.

Note CUP will also document this issue and declare CUP doesn't support valid 
license removal through the CLI command. The only time that user needs to 
remove the license file is a publisher rehost is performed and the original 
license file becomes invalid. users will need to upload a new license file,