Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ASA 5516-X Licenses

VCsupport17
Level 3
Level 3

Hello Community,

I am new with Cisco ASA firewall. We have ordered Cisco ASA 5516-X as shown below and already installed onsite.

Line Number Item Name Description Service Duration
1.0 ASA5516-FTD-K9 ASA 5516-X with Firepower Threat Defense, 8GE, AC N/A
1.0.1 CON-SNT-ASA5K16F SNTC-8X5XNBD ASA 5516-X with Firepower Threat Defense 12.0 month(s)
1.1 CAB-ACU AC Power Cord (UK), C13, BS 1363, 2.5m N/A
1.2 SF-ASA-TD6.1-K9 Cisco Firepower Threat Defense software v6.1 for ASA5500-X N/A
1.3 ASA5516-SSD ASA 5516-X SSD N/A

2.0 L-ASA5516T-TMC= Cisco ASA5516 Threat Defense Threat, Malware and URL License N/A
2.0.1 L-ASA5516T-TMC-1Y Cisco ASA5516 Threat Defense Threat, Malware and URL 1Y Subs 12.0 month(s)

3.0 FS-VMW-2-SW-K9 Cisco Firepower Management Center,(VMWare) for 2 devices N/A
3.0.1 CON-ECMU-VMWSW2 SWSS UPGRADES Cisco Firepower Management Center,(VMWare) for 12.0 month(s)

If we need to enable Site-to site and client-to-site VPN, what licenses we need to purchase?

Our Cisco ASA 5516-X version:

Thank you

10 Replies 10

You don't need any extra license. But you can't do any remote-access VPNs with your box as that is not implemented yet in FirePOWER Tread Defense. You have two choices:

1. Wait for a release that implements Remote Access VPNs. I would expect that release later this year.
  2. Change the software on the Device to "ASA with FirePOWER".

If you choose 2), you reseller will probably help you with that.

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Remote access SSL VPN will be included in FTD 6.2.1, projected to be released in the coming month. This was being shared widely at Cisco Live Melbourne last week. 

That feature will require AnyConnect licenses. There will be a new delivery type to match the Smart licenses that are the sole license type used by FTD. 

I'm surprised your reseller sold you the FTD image without qualifying that requirement for you.