cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

High density wireless

nstr1
Level 1
Level 1

I work in a school, with high user density, and there are several buildings.

With two WLCs;

-WLC 5520 v8.10 (in this WLC its access points are 3802E, 2702E and 9130AXI), with approximately 8000 users.

-WLC 9800-40-k9 v17.9.4 (in this WLC its access points are 9130AXI), with approximately 2000 users.

At some point the entire WLC 5520 will be migrated to the WLC 9800.

nstr1_0-1707587899642.png

building with two floors

Carry out a survey and in some cases it is necessary to reinforce the signal in the corners, which would be carried out with the installation of new access points. On some occasions I have seen my APs with up to 100 users, also carry out best practices.

The question is, do you recommend using the same AP 9130 model or should I use some other model? Or in general is there any recommendation for my high density scheme???

2 Replies 2

Jerome BERTHIER
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

High density design is a specific infrastructure use case where you need to take care of a lot of things.

Your design will not only depend on number of users but also of expected throuput, latency and jitter for their usage.

High density design guide : https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/wireless/controller/technotes/8-7/b_wireless_high_client_density_design_guide.html

Short story :

- create smaller cell size with more APs by reducing TX power and/or using directionnal antennas to avoid co-channel interference

- if possible, avoid using 2.4Ghz

- use at most 5Ghz channels as you can depending of DFS, channel interference... Set it in DCA.

- you may keep 20Mhz channel width depending of the density

- use higher data rates

- limit the number of SSIDs

- use 802.11k and 802.11r (802.11v may help or not)