cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UCSD 5.2: User can't select virtual machines from catalog (among other problems...)

Ben Conrad
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I've setup UCSD 5.2 and have successfully published a EMC VNX workflow to a catalog and presented that to the user portal and the user is able to provision a LUN on a VNX. 

However, when I try to do something very simple on the VMware side (change memory of an existing VM) the portal user is not able to see any VMs when creating the Service Request.  The service request asks them to select a VM that will have it's memory modified.  When I (I am an admin) run the workflow the catalog is using, I see the VMs and can pick from a list of VMs.  So I'm assuming I somehow need to associate the portal users to the vDC or "Cloud"?  the VDC has

In Policies > catalog, I can't get the end user to see the catalog (VNX or VMware) if I select a specific Active Directory group, I have to select "applied to all group" instead of "selected groups".  If I select a specific Active Directory group the catalog item disappears in the portal.

I have to say the documentation for this product is very poor.  There is no concepts guide and much of the documentation focuses on how do to something but does not tell you why you are doing it or how to use the product to get something done.

Ben

2 Replies 2

jcredlan
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

I'm sorry that you weren't able to find the information that you need in the Cisco UCS Director documentation. I'm working on an improvement plan for the documentation. If you would like to reach out to me and provide more feedback, please email me at jcredlan@cisco.com. I'm also happy to set up a meeting to discuss this with you.

Jane

--

Jane Credland

Project Manager, CSPG Technical Documentation

Hi Jane,