cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Issue with ResultSetList

SEAN NILSEN
Level 4
Level 4

I have been working with ResultSetList for several years and just today I find myself in the position of having to troubleshoot column names. First, I feel like I'm lucky for having today be the first time after so long.

I know I can just use int value positions in the RSL to get my data, but, it made me realize that there's no way to get the metadata like I can for a standard ResultSet.

I'm assuming that everyone just backs off to using the core ResultSet in those scenarios? That implies ALSO moving away from the stock DB Element as well, which is also somewhat annoying just to be able to interrogate the Column Names.

I get the benefits of having the slimmer RSL object, and I'll work around it, but it seems like an oversight to not include the scenario where someone might want/need to interrogate the underlying RS metadata.

3 Replies 3

janinegraves
Spotlight
Spotlight

I don't think there's a way to determine the column names from a

ResultSetList.

To get around this, I've created a studio element with a repeatable

setting, where one can can specify the column names they'd like

retrieved from the ResultSetList. I also Settings where the user can

specify the name of the ResultSetList and the row number they'd like to

access.

Usually, the developer is writing the query in the Database Element, so

they know the names of the columns they want to access.

SEAN NILSEN
Level 4
Level 4

Thanks Janine!

There isn't a way through the ResultSetList directly, I went through the JavaDocs and even peeked into the elements.jar itself and there's no built-in way to get at this.