cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Finesse 11.0 with Pidgin - Pidgin XMPP unsubscribe results in agent login failure from browser

Andy Backus
Level 1
Level 1

UCCE 10.5.2; Finesse 11.0

I am just getting started with Finesse and gadgets. I was able to do the rudimentary Poster and Pidgin items described in the Finesse Developer Guide (all IPs pointing to Finesse pub).  When I tried to find a way to "logout" of Pidgin, nothing obvious presented itself, so I performed an "unsubscribe" for the finesse and presencelistener "buddies".  And with that, I am no longer able to login using the agent account to the finesse pub server using the browser client. The aberrant behavior now : the browser seems to timeout on the pub, then successfully login to the sub - this is consistent. All other agent accounts are fine, and login via browser to the pub.

All the following have failed to rectify:

- deleting/recreating the agent account in UCCE

- restarting Finesse pub

Would appreciate and help or guidance in getting the account restored.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Denise -

So I ended up opening a TAC case and the engineer did a fantastic job getting the resolution steps (lab simulated/BU engagement).

Ends up, like you reference, that I have to subscribe to these services (TAC said never unsubscribe from 'finesse' and 'presencelistener').  The finesse developer's guide mentions that you must unsubscribe from explicit subscriptions; guess I need to learn difference between explicit and implicit. Anyway ...

Solution

=========================

Using pidgin, use the broken agent XMPP account to subscribe to these 2 services ('services' use here may be incorrect).

1. Add 'finesse' buddy

- use pidgin 'add buddy' and enter following fields

- select already defined broken agent account (<agent id>@<finesse pub ip>/<resource> (XMPP))

- for buddy name, enter 'finesse@<finesse pub ip>')