cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Getting "The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request." error when trying to connect to Cisco ISE 2.1 using ASP.NET MVC Application to consume Guest REST API?

nitin.gupta
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to the Cisco ISE 2.1 and trying to build an ASP.NET MVC 5 application that will create Guest Users using the Guest REST API.

While I am trying to get user details (created using sponsor portal by sponsor user "vspl"), I am able to get the information.

As I am trying to create a guest user account using the Guest REST API from my application and trying get response (HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()), an error "The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request." is raising. below is my code:

==============================================================================================

public string postXMLData()
        {
            destinationUrl = @"https://ise.demo.com:9060/ers/config/guestuser/";
            HttpWebRequest request = (HttpWebRequest)HttpWebRequest.Create(destinationUrl);
            request.Method = "POST";                                                                                      // to create a new guest user account
            request.ContentType = "application/vnd.com.cisco.ise.identity.guestuser.2.0+xml";
            request.Accept = "application/vnd.com.cisco.ise.identity.guestuser.2.0+xml";
            request.AutomaticDecompression = DecompressionMethods.GZip;

string credidentials = "vspl:Password"; //// "vspl is the Sponsor user"
            string authCode = Convert.ToBase64String(Encoding.Default.GetBytes(credidentials)); //to convert user id and password as per RFC 2617
            request.Headers.Add("Authorization", "Basic " + authCode);

//// XML data to post to the REST API's POST method