cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to log the stack trace for CVP database element?

asadullah.s
Level 1
Level 1

Hello there,

I am new to CVP, correct me if I am wrong. I have a database element in my CVP application. And I have an event DB_Error created to handle Java Exception, and its Event list is (.) dot to capture all the exception, I want to know to how to log the stack trace (in CVP activity logs) that is generated when this DB_Error event occurs. Kindly do assist me

cvp_question.png

Thanks in advance.

9 Replies 9

janinegraves
Spotlight
Spotlight

You should change the error that you're catching to . to catch all

java exceptions.

The stack trace will be in the error log by default in

C:\Cisco\VxmlServer\applications\appname\logs\ErrorLog\

Hi Janine,

If you see my screenshot I already have dot(.) there, but it is not logging the stack trace whenever the DB_Error event occurs. It directly enters the Subflow_DB_update_outbound element. Can you please provide me another solution?

Change the error that you're catching to star dot star (*.*) --- For some reason, the stars were omitted from the response I sent you.

Then post both your activity log and your error log.

Have you changed any of the activity or error logging properties?

Also - are you using the Cisco Database element? Or a custom element?

I tried using (*.*) as well, still no trace in activity or error logs and yes it is a database element.

What if you remove the event handling. Then do you see an error log

under applications/appname/logs/ErrorLog?

Well that needs to be tested, the actual requirement is to log the stack trace of the error that is being handled. But you have a point there, I need to see what type of error, it throws when it is not handled.

Hi Janine,

As discussed I have removed the error handling just to obtain the stack trace in error log, so this is what I get,